The 2nd Sunday of February is a time when we reflect on friends and family that have passed on, and acknowledge the recipient of the Rodder of the Year award. A morning tea adjacent to the Motor Museum of WA at Whiteman Park in the Swan Valley provides the framework for the car show and gathering which serves both purposes.

The sober aspect of the day is when we reflect on those lost over the last year. The WA Divisional Director (MC) will call the roll and comment on WA rodders that are gone but never forgotten, concluded by a minute of silence.

The ASRF WA introduced the Rodder of the Year (ROTY) award in 1979, the inaugural recipient was Vince Berriman. This award recognises a person for their promotion, commitment and achievements to street rodding in Western Australia in the past year. All ASRF members are eligible, whether they are club members or not. It is voted on by secret ballot at the conclusion of monthly DC meetings by ASRF affiliated clubs. Each participating club is entitled to one vote per calendar month.

The winner is recognised by a name plate on a commemorative shield that the recipient will hold for twelve months before it is passed on to the next recipient. They also receive an engraved personal shield, an embroidered jacket and a nominal sum for a night out of their choosing with their partner to commemorate the occasion. Numerous rodders have won the ROTY award on more than one occasion.

The 2021 Rodder of the Year and Memorial Day will be on February 7, commencing at 9am.